Growing up

With my 9th 21st birthday imminent and the escapades of the weekend still fresh in my memory, I’ve been thinking about growing up, getting older and bring responsible.

Last week, Blonde wrote about how she feels like a fraud – how, even now we’re 10 years out of school with degrees and jobs and houses and dependants (in her case, Colin the cat, in my case, my plants), it doesn’t feel like we should be here, being grown up.

I feel the same, constantly. And I also feel guilt. Guilt that I’m not doing this whole “being a grown up” thing very well.

This feeling is reinforced by the plethora of wedding invites, pictures of small children and smug couples who seem to invade my every day life. And it’s not all envy – I promise. All of these people deserve all of their happiness and I’m flattered that I’m asked to help them celebrate. And yes, I want it too. I’ve never been afraid to admit that.

And so the guilt is felt even more acutely because, despite knowing what I want, and despite knowing (sort of) how it’s achieved, despite all this, even now, I have no stop button.

When I was 18, 19, 20, this was fine. I was allowed to be all go-go-go. I was at University, I was young, and it was kind of expected. And I relished it. I went out until all hours, I drank vile cocktails, I flirted (a lot), I had strings of boyfriends, near-friends, friends with benefits and a variety of others in between. And that suited me fine.

21 hit and I came to London. I settled in. I found my feet and then, at 22, I met N. This was my grown up stage. I was in a committed relationship, I paid my bills, I was in contracts, I went out (on occasion) but there it was, I was a grown up.

Four years later, and I’m on my own. A year after that, I move country and start all over again. And this, it seems, is where it’s gone a little awry.

I seem to have regressed back to my Uni stage. Except this time, I’m not 18 anymore. 10 years have passed and I’m finding this lack of willpower, this lack of stop button, is causing me more angst than I’d like.

Weekends have become a joyful blur of going out with friends, meeting random people, occasional liaisons and lazy Sundays. And it’s fun, and I enjoy it, but is this the way I want it to continue?

Do I want to become one of those women who are perpetually alone, bouncing from one fling to another? Do I want to be greeted by the man behind the bar at the local nightclub? Do I want to be that person who always asks “where to next?”

No, I want to be a grown up.

It amuses me somewhat that all my male friends seem to have this ingrained belief that my “Mr Right” is going to seemingly appear before me (blinding flash and puff of smoke optional)*. Sometimes I feel like I could be in Snow White with the amount of “someday your prince will come“s going on.

So what do I do? Do I curb my – ahem – natural enthusiasm and become a sensible being? Will this make me more grown up? Do I embrace what I seem to have become and deal with it? Will this make me more grown up? Shall I change completely and become a new person? Will this make me more grown up?

The answer, as ever, continues to hide from me. And so, for now, until the answer arrives, I will continue to complain, and feel guilt, and rant to myself on this blog, and annoy my friends about it.

Sorry.

*It has not escaped my notice that all my male friends have found their significant others and therefore are no longer the cynical beings that I once knew!

Tagged , ,

20 thoughts on “Growing up

  1. swashbuckled says:

    Identified a lot with this post. I think ‘us people’ are more common than we might believe – partly because it’s not something to be boastful about, so we conceal ourselves under anonymous online IDs.

    I’ve a flimsy theory that, although we all want what simply EVERYBODY in the world has, that lifestyle feels much more aggressively prescriptive today, though perhaps not as simply achievable as it once was.

    Life is fairly long, there’s plenty of ways to live it: no right or wrong ones – besides, y know, murder, genocide and things. That’s quite wrong.

    • nuttycow says:

      So basically what you’re saying (I think) is that the grass is always greener and if we don’t conform to what we think we should be doing, we feel as if we’ve failed.

      Probably.

      Sucks, doesn’t it?

  2. Fursty Ferret says:

    now now bloggins,

    sounds like you have the Monday blues on your blog today. You know – its very easy to be self-analytical / crtitical when you’re single and its a Monday. You know – your life doesnt have to be perfect and grown up at a particular point. And you know there are no rules that define grown up. I only know this because I have the same chats with myself – you know not solid base etc etc – too old to be drinking and partying all the time. Why doesnt my savings account have money in it? etc etc.

    You have made a massive move and to be honest you have to get out there to meet people. You are slowing down – you may not even realise it. You are doing grown up cultural things – just not all the time. These things take time. And remeber – at least you are growing up in stages and aren’t turning 30 on Friday!!

  3. Firstly I’m a bit annoyed so might rant: soz

    Ok, so where in the ‘book of how to be a grown up’ does it say that you can’t go out, ask where next, have flings, have fun and generally enjoy yourself?

    You have a good job that you were headhunted to move to Switzerland for – that’s grown up.
    You have a good set of friends that you can enjoy yourself with but don’t feel the need to be the same as – that’s grown up
    You have hobbies that you enjoy that allow you to mix with different sorts of people – that’s grown up

    Why is there some feeling that you’re (and i don’t mean just you here) not a grown-up until you are in a serious relationship/married/sprogged? Why are we judged by our peers unless we are?

    Am i less grown up than my cousin who got pregnant at 17 to get a house to live in and has been on benefits ever since? Well she’s married and has babies so she must be grown up, mustn’t she?

    • nuttycow says:

      Ranting’s no bad thing DiG.

      I understand your point, completely. I just… well, I don’t know – maybe it’s the way in which I’ve been bought up. I just always equated being an adult with being married (at the right time) and having children (at the right time).

      No, I don’t think your cousin has got it right, but maybe for her, she has. I am just well aware that of my peer group, this age is the age when it all starts to settle down a bit.

  4. Mud says:

    I spent yesterday walking round a museum looking like a family (friend + his 4 yr old holding my hand). Funny to feel like I was moonlighting in a grown up life.

    It will come. Might as well make the most of the meantime.

  5. dellers says:

    OMG did you kidnap my thoughts from the weekend as thats exactly what i spent the weekend fretting about. I feel like i’m going to be the spinster aunt forever – the one who causes the odd number at the dinner table because of a lack of another half! meh!

    • nuttycow says:

      Hey dellers – in some ways, I’m not sure I mind the spinster aunt thing (after all, you could be the cool adult that everyone thinks is awesome) but I would’ve at least liked to have had the chance to have something different.

  6. Blonde says:

    Huh. It appears, NC, that we are not alone. Does this mean the world’s population is wandering round, all feeling fraudulent? I don’t know whether that’s a cheering or an alarming thought…

  7. Sarah says:

    I’ve spent some time thinking about this too. Don’t change. If you change who you are and attract a Mr. Right, then he won’t be your Mr. Right. Your Mr. Right will love you for drinking too much on Saturday night and for being the fun girl at the party.

  8. Paula says:

    I prefer to keep having fun and enjoying myself until the opportunity to properly “grow up” comes along. And even THEN i hope that I can still have my fun. But who knows what might happen… Blah, I’m talking crap I think.

    I think Sarah actually totally summed up what I really wanted to say there, but I couldn’t work it out (too much wine). So I just second her comment instead…

    • nuttycow says:

      Being grown up doesn’t mean you have to stop having fun – I never intend to do that. It’s just, I can’t help thinking, there might be something more than what I’ve got.

  9. London-Lass says:

    `Guilt that I’m not doing this whole “being a grown up” thing very well.’

    O I can agree with this statement. But I never feel guilty about it 🙂

  10. Rapunzel says:

    I bloody love this post! Especially as it was only the other week that someone told me to stop pissing about and it was time to grow up. After decking them (well I did in my mind!) I realised that they were right. Growing up doesn’t necessarily mean getting boring but it’s time I stopped pretending that I’m in 20’s and embrace my 30’s which bring about their own joy!

  11. No. Do whatever you enjoy and whatever interests you now. Don’t curtail living just because everyone else seems to do it. Slow down when slowing down sounds more fun than partying.

    I think all those smug married people w/ kids secretly wish they could be out living their lives more — maybe not all the time, but I guarantee you they miss the occasional nights of partying and lazy Sundays.

  12. Oh dear, I still haven’t grown up either and I’m a LOT older than you. I still feel like a kid out of school, I’ve been married, and I felt fraudulent then, like I really should be, and as I’m now divorced I must have been right 🙂
    Just be who you are and do what your heart tells you and sod the rest.

Leave a comment